Skip to main content

Reply to this post | See parent post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: jory2 Date: Sep 13, 2011 6:33am
Forum: web Subject: Re: Why is Archived content purged retroactively? [Was: Re: Ezboard content suddenly not available in the new system - why?]

Jeff you wrote the following:
"media is not being deleted. it just becomes unavailable for viewing in the Wayback Machine."
there was nothing to "misunderstand" about that.
Changing your post to read:
"My understanding is that when a robots.txt is in place all pages from that site are blocked." is pointing out the obvious and answers no ones questions.
We already know that sites are "blocked" when a robot.txt is respected, the questions is, is the content deleted from the Internet Archive, or simply made unavailable for public viewing?